EN - FR
Logo Ju-Leh Adventure
NOUS CONTACTER
prière Ladakh
festival d'Hemis au Ladakh, danse des masques

Festivals au Ladakh

De nombreux festivals sont célébrés au Ladakh. La plupart des festivals ont lieu dans la cour des monastères où les moines, parés de masques, exécutent des danses sacrées (Chams). Les festivals ont une part importante dans la culture ladakhie.

Festival de Dosmochey

Célébré avec une grande ferveur chaque année, Dosmochey est l'un des festivals les plus populaires du Ladakh. Il est simultanément célébré à Leh et dans les monastères de Diskit et de Likir, au mois de février. A Leh, le festival a lieu dans la cour au-dessous du Palais où les Lamas de plusieurs monastères, parés de masques, exécutent des danses sacrées (Chams).

Lieu : cour au-dessous du palais de Leh
Dates : 21 - 22 février 2020

Festival de Stok Guru Tsechu

Avec le festival de Matho Nagrang, celui de Stok Guru Tsechu est la fête des oracles. Mais, contrairement à celui de Matho, les oracles de Stok sont des laïcs préparés par les moines pour qu'ils puissent invoquer l'esprit de divinités et prédire l'avenir du village.

Lieu : monastère de Stok
Dates : 03 - 04 mars 2020

Festival de Matho Nagrang

Ce festival, qui se déroule dans le monastère de Matho, est bien connu pour ses oracles. Les deux moines choisis pour être oracles doivent méditer pendant des mois pour être prêts pour le festival et prédire l'avenir aux gens.

Lieu : monastère de Matho
Dates : 08 - 09 mars 2020

Fête de Saka Dawa, de Bouddha Purnima ou du Vesak

Ce festival marque la naissance du Bouddha, son Eveil et sa mort. Cette fête est célébrée avec beaucoup d'enthousiasme et de ferveur par les gens du Ladakh. Des programmes culturels et des discours sur la vie du Bouddha sont organisés au terrain de polo de Leh.

Lieu : dans tout le Ladakh
Dates : 05 juin 2020

Festival de Sindhu Darshan

Cette fête marque l'importance de la rivière Sindhu (Indus) qui est considérée comme le berceau de la civilisation indienne et le symbole de l'unité de l'Inde. Les gens de différentes régions du pays convergent vers le Ladakh et présentent des programmes culturels pendant le festival. Des hommages sont également rendus aux soldats morts au combat.

Lieu : près du village de Shey
Dates : 12 - 14 juin 2020

Festival d’Hemis Tsechu

Ce festival est organisé pour célébrer l'anniversaire de Padmasambhava (Guru Rinpoché), le fondateur du bouddhisme tibétain. Les danses des masques sont effectuées par les moines dans la cour du monastère. Hemis abrite le plus grand thangka (peinture traditionnelle tibétaine) du monde. Ce thangka, haut de deux étages, est dévoilé une fois tous les 12 ans. Il a été déroulé en 2016 et sera présenté de nouveau en 2028.

Lieu : monastère d’Hemis
Dates : 30 juin - 01 juillet 2020

Festival de Phyang Tsedup

Les danses des masques sont effectuées par des moines. Un grand thangka de Skyoba Jigten Gombo, le fondateur de l'ordre Drikungpa, est exposé pendant le festival.

Lieu : monastère de Phyang
Dates : 18 - 19 juillet 2020

Festival du Ladakh

Ce festival est organisé par le département du tourisme. Divers programmes culturels sont organisés comme des danses folkloriques, de la musique traditionnelle, des concours de tir à l'arc et des matchs de polo. Les danses des masques sont l'un des moments forts du festival. Ce festival est l’occasion idéale pour les touristes de découvrir la culture et le mode de vie du peuple ladakhi.

Lieu : Leh
Dates : 01 - 04 septembre 2020 (to be confirmed)

Fête du Losar

Le Losar marque le début de la nouvelle année au Ladakh et c’est l'un des événements socio-religieux les plus importants. Il dure environ deux semaines mais les célébrations principales ont lieu les trois premiers jours. Les ladakhis vont faire des offrandes dans les monastères et rendent visite à leurs parents et amis.

Lieu : dans tout le Ladakh
Dates : 15 décembre 2020

festivals des monastères du Ladakh, danse des masques

EN - FR
Ju-Leh Adventure logo
CONTACT US
Prayer Ladakh
Buddhist festival in Ladakh, mask dance performed by monk

Festivals of Ladakh

There are many colourful festivals celebrated in Ladakh. Most of the festivals are held in the courtyard of monasteries where monks perform the sacred mask dances (Chams). The festivals are an important part of Ladakh's cultural life.

Dosmochey Festival

Celebrated with great fervour every year, Dosmochey is one of the most popular festivals of Ladakh. It is simultaneously celebrated in Leh, Diskit and Likir monasteries during the month of February. In Leh, the festival is held in the courtyard below the Leh Palace where Lamas adorned with masks from various monasteries perform sacred dances (Chams).

Location: courtyard below Leh Palace
Dates: 21 - 22 February 2020

Stok Guru Tsechu Festival

Along with Matho Nagrang festival, the Stok Guru Tsechu is the festival of oracles. But unlike the one in Matho, the oracles of Stok are laypersons who are prepared by the monks so that they can invoke the spirit of deities and predict the future of the village.

Location: Stok monastery
Dates: 03 - 04 March 2020

Matho Nagrang Festival

This festival taking place in the Matho gompa is well-known for oracles. The two monks chosen to be oracles need to meditate for months for the preparation so that they can be ready for the festival and tell the future of the people.

Location: Matho monastery
Dates: 08 - 09 March 2020

Saka Dawa, Buddha Purnima or Vesak Day

This festival marks the birth of Lord Buddha, his enlightenment and death. This festival is celebrated with great enthusiasm and fervour by people of Ladakh. Cultural programs and speech on life of Lord Buddha are organized at Leh polo ground.

Location: all over Ladakh
Dates: 05 June 2020

Sindhu Darshan Festival

This festival is celebrated to mark the importance of the river Sindhu (Indus). The river is considered as the birthplace of Indian civilization, the symbol of India’s unity. People from different parts of the country converge to Ladakh and showcase cultural programs during the festival. Tributes are also paid to soldiers who gave their lives in the line of duty.

Location: near Shey village
Dates: 12 - 14 June 2020

Hemis Tsechu Festival

This festival is held to celebrate the birthday of Padmasambhava (Guru Rinpoche), the founder of Tibetan Buddhism. Sacred mask dances are performed by the resident monks of the monastery in the courtyard. The monastery is home to the world’s largest thangka or Tibetan scroll painting. This two-storey high thangka is unveiled once every 12 years. The thangka was displayed in the year 2016 and it will be shown again in 2028.

Location: Hemis monastery
Dates: 30 June - 01 July 2020

Phyang Tsedup Festival

During the festival, sacred mask dances are performed by monks. A huge thangka of Skyoba Jigten Gombo, the founder of the Drikungpa order, is displayed.

Location: Phyang monastery
Dates: 18 - 19 July 2020

Ladakh Festival

This festival is organised by the Tourism Department. Various cultural programs are held such as folk dances, traditional music, archery competitions and polo matches. Mask dances are one of the highlights of the festival. This festival is a perfect opportunity for the tourists to discover the culture and lifestyle of the Ladakhi people.

Location: Leh
Dates: 01 - 04 September 2020 (to be confirmed)

Losar Festival

The Losar festival marks the start of the New Year in Ladakh, it is one of the most important socio-religious events. It lasts about two weeks but the first three days are the most important ones. During this time, Ladakhi people go to the monasteries to make offerings and they visit their relatives and friends.

Location: all over Ladakh
Dates: 15 December 2020

Monastic festival of Ladakh, sacred mask dance